How do I prevent third-party apps from accessing my Facebook data?

Facebook is ubiquitous over the Internet. Nowadays, many websites and applications allow users to log in using their Facebook accounts, making it quicker to establish an account for the website or app. It also grants third-party applications and websites access to Facebook user data. Therefore, it poses several security hazards.

Benefits of login with Facebook

For the user:

1) There is no need to provide personal information when registering for a website or an app while logging in with Facebook. Users may begin using the application as soon as feasible.

2) It makes no difference if the user forgets the login credentials for other websites or applications. Users don’t need to remember several passwords for various websites and applications, which might be problematic if they have multiple accounts.

3) Users will soon be able to locate their pals on third-party sites. Therefore, people need not lose time building ties with Facebook pals who also use the new network.

For third–party websites and apps:

1) They allow users to share information from them on Facebook, which is advantageous for the marketing of third-party websites and applications.

2) Facebook Login makes account creation simple for users. This may attract a substantial number of users.

For Facebook:

1) Make users more dependent on Facebook.

Potential dangers

The majority of websites and applications now enable users to log in using Facebook, making it easier to use their services. Once you enable this feature in your Facebook settings, you will be able to instantly log in using your Facebook credentials. As you log in to more and more websites and applications using Facebook, however, more and more third parties have access to your personal information on Facebook. If the third-party platform lacks robust security measures, it will be susceptible to cyber assaults. Once the site has been hacked, your sensitive information will not be safe.

Numerous third-party websites and applications to which you have signed in using Facebook have remained inactive for an extended period. However, they may still have access to your Facebook information. And you may forget some of the websites to which you have checked in using Facebook. You do not know how many third-party applications and websites may access your Facebook information.

If the so-called third-party website or app is a phishing site or app, you are likely to fall for its trap since it is impossible to determine if the login page is real or not. Once you enter your Facebook login information on the phishing website or the app’s malicious page, it may access your username and password. Then, your critical Facebook information will be compromised.

Worse still, if the password is compromised, any accounts you establish using your Facebook login information will be at risk. From these third-party applications and websites, hackers might get a great deal of personal data.

How can you block websites and applications from accessing your Facebook information?

1. Modify the information you want to share with third-party websites and applications.

  • Enter your Facebook credentials.
  • Tap the triangle symbol in Facebook’s upper-right corner.
  • Click “Settings”.
  • Select “Apps and Websites.”
  • You will then see “Active,” “Expired,” and “Removed.”
  • In the “Removed” area, applications and websites no longer have access to your Facebook data. And Facebook cannot be used to log into these websites and applications.
  • For applications and websites in the other two areas, you can touch, “view and edit” to see what data they can access and to modify their settings. If you do not want certain users to have access to your data, you may select them and press “Remove” to transfer them to the “Removed” area.

2. Disable Facebook’s interactions with third-party applications and websites

  • Enter your Facebook credentials.
  • Click on the triangle symbol in Facebook’s upper-right corner.
  • Click “Settings”.
  • Select “Apps and Websites.”
  • Scroll down until you reach “Preferences.”
  • Tap “Edit” under the “Apps, Websites, and Games” section.
  • To stop Facebook interactions with third-party applications and websites, tap “Turn Off.”
  • Note that Facebook login is no longer supported on these websites and applications.

3. Permanently delete your Facebook profile.

  • Enter your Facebook credentials.
  • Tap the triangle symbol in Facebook’s upper-right corner.
  • Click “Settings”.
  • Tap “Your Facebook Details.”
  • Select “Deactivation and Removal.”
  • Choose “Delete Account Permanently”
  • Tap “Proceed to Account Removal.”
  • Select “Delete Account”
  • You will then be prompted to enter your password to confirm that this is really your account.
  • Tap “Proceed” followed by “Delete Account.”

4. Use a separate Facebook account to access third-party applications and websites.

If none of the aforementioned approaches meets your demands, there is still a viable alternative for protecting your data. Use a different Facebook account to access other websites and applications. This Facebook account will only include the information required to create a Facebook account. Therefore, other applications and websites will not have access to your critical information.

Bottom line

Although it is quite easy to access services provided by other applications and websites by checking in with Facebook, NordVPN does not encourage doing so for data security reasons. It is also recommended that you connect to a VPN to prevent online surveillance by other parties.

Found this useful? Share with